Location: Bowdoin / Library / Special Collections & Archives / Subject Guides / politics-and-government-resources / Judicial

LibraryGeorge J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives


Judicial

The listing below describes collection containing material relating to state or federal judges.

Links on the list take two forms: highlighted entries not accompanied by descriptive text lead to an entry elsewhere within the Politics and Government Guide; highlighted collection titles accompanied by descriptive text lead to a guide that details the contents of those collections.

[Click here for a list of Bowdoin alumni who have served in the federal government.]



Supreme Court of the United States

M24 - Harold Hitz Burton papers, 1927-1965. 2 linear feet.

Harold Hitz Burton (1888-1964, Bowdoin 1909) studied law at Harvard University (1912), working with various firms, then joining a Cleveland law firm in 1925. His political life included serving in the Ohio House of Representatives (1929), three terms as mayor of Cleveland (elected 1934, 1937 and 1939), and the U.S. Senate (elected 1940). In 1945 Truman appointed him to the Supreme Court where he served as associate justice until 1958.

The collection cosists of correspondence (1933-1964, n.d.); documents concerning and annotated drafts of judicial opinions (1945-1960); printed invitations and programs (1943-1963); speeches and notes (1927-1960, n.d.); and a few photographs.

Return to top


Federal Courts

M202 - George J. Mitchell Papers, 1950 - (bulk 1974-1994).

Return to top


Maine Supreme Court

Greenleaf's reports, 1820-1832.

M167 - Samuel E. Smith Papers, 1786-1880 (bulk 1822-1860).

Return to top


Court Cases and Judicial Opinions

Greenleaf's reports, 1820-1832. 1.5 linear feet

Simon Greenleaf (1783-1853) was admitted to the Massachusetts bar in 1806, practicing in Standish and Gray (now Maine) until 1818. As reporter of the Maine Supreme Court (1820-1832), he prepared the opinions and decisions of the court for publication as Reports of cases argued and determined in the Supreme Judicial Court of the State of Maine. Greenleaf left Maine in 1833 to join the Harvard faculty and remained there until 1848.

The manuscript drafts (1820-1832) of the Reports ... are bound into eight volumes bearing the spine title "Greenleaf's Reports." In his letter presenting them to Bowdoin, Greenleaf wrote that these were "...the manuscripts of my Reports of the decisions of the Supreme Judicial Court of Maine. Most of the decisions are the originals, as delivered in court, in the Judges' own autographs ..."

1.1.12 - Board of Trustees ... 1794- : Court Cases, 1833-1911. 2.5 linear feet.

The Governing Boards originally consisted of the Board of Trustees and the Board of Overseers. This bicameral system was created by the Charter of Bowdoin College in 1794. Most votes of the Trustees needed approval by the Overseers, who also approved the chair of the Board of Trustees. In 1996, the charter was amended to abolish the Board of Overseers and establish a single governing unit, the Board of Trustees.

This series contains briefs, testimony, opinions and judgments rendered in cases involving Bowdoin College and/or its agents. Cases include: Garcelon-Merritt Fund Litigation (The President and Trustees of Bowdoin College, et al. vs. James P. Merritt, et al. and In the Matter of the Estate of Catharine M. Garcelon, 1892-1897); William Allen vs. Joseph McKeen, Treasurer of Bowdoin College, 1833; Mary F. S. Searles Will Case, 1891; Daniel B. Fayerweather Will and Litigation, 1897; and Batt et al., Executors of Coombs Will vs. Stevens et al., Treasurer of Massachusetts, 1911.

Return to top

George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives · Staff · Hours
Bowdoin College Library, 3000 College Station, Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421 · scaref@bowdoin.edu · (207) 725-3288