Location: Bowdoin / Library / Special Collections & Archives / Subject Guides / brunswick-region-resources / Bath, Arrowsic, Phippsburg, and Woolwich (including Day's Ferry and Nequasset)

Bath, Arrowsic, Phippsburg, and Woolwich (including Day's Ferry and Nequasset)

Carlton Bridge (Woolwich side) under construction, 1927, Leon B. Strout Collection

Carlton Bridge (Woolwich side) under construction, 1927
Leon B. Strout Collection

Letters, Documents, Deeds, and Other Manuscript Material

  • [Sagadahoc-area Scrapbooks]: newspaper articles written by Howard O. Thayer (Bowd. 1862) about early settlements in the area, now primarily Bath, Phippsburg, Arrowsic, and Nequasset, 1650s through 1700s, 3 vols. (M194 .T439)
  • Charles Vaughan Family Papers, 1683-1908 (bulk 1773-1861):
    • Deed, Rachel McCobb to Charles Vaughan, May 2, 1793, land on Arrowsic, Georgetown (M180, box E, folder E-2)
    • Deed, John Fisher to Charles Vaughan, Dec. 24, 1795, land on Arrowsic, Georgetown (M180, box E, folder E-2)
  • B. Waste ship-supplier’s or store-owner’s account book, 1808-1809, 1 vol. (M194 .W378 folio)
  • William King, Bath Custom House correspondence copy-book, May 1829 to November 1830, 1 vol. (M194 .K564 folio)
  • Thomas W. Hyde Family Papers, 1831-1948 (M199)
  • Magoun & Clapp Records: shipping and ships’ records, 1846-1867 (M121)
  • Kimball & Co. shipping records, 24 items, 1850-1864 (M194, box 4, folder Kimball)
  • Elmes & Tebbetts, merchants’ day book, 1854-1857, 1 vol. (M194 .T433)
  • Maritime Papers, 1854-1863, 0.5 linear feet: shipbuilding company Bibber & Randall’s ledger, letterbook, and other documents, and William G. Randall’s design notebooks (M123)
  • Sarah Sampson and the Third Maine Regiment of Volunteers in the Civil War, 1861-1865: letter typescript photocopies and document photocopies relating to the Bath resident, Civil War nurse, and fervent advocate for the establishment of the Bath Military and Naval Orphan Asylum, later the State Military and Naval Children’s Home, compiled and annotated by Lawrence M. Sturtevant, 1 vol. (M194 .S267 folio)
  • Kate Furbish Collection, 1870-1908
  • Ralph Owen Brewster Papers, 1909-1962
  • Robert Peter Tristram Coffin Collection, bulk 1910-1955 Kennebec: Cradle of Americans – drafts and page proofs (M37.3, boxes 90-94)
  • Mellen Collection, compiled by Clara Hawkins Mellen, contains correspondence and genealogical information on several Maine and New England families: donor’s research notes – Pejepscot Company document concerning Small Point, typescript copy (M129.14, box 1, folder 3)
  • George J. Mitchell Papers, 1948-
  • Charles Wyman Morse:
    • Alumnus biographical file: clippings, mostly obituaries, with information about his Bath-based ice business and steamship company and his gift of the original Morse High School (Archives 1.3.1, box 51, Class of 1877, Morse)
    • Clippings scrapbooks concerning his entire career, 2 vols. (Archives 1.3.3, v. 26-27 folio)
  • Merrymeeting Audubon Society Records, 1969-1972
  • William Phips, Knight: The Man and His Work [scrapbook] by Rev. Henry O. Thayer, 1 vol. (M194 .T4397)

Maps

Photographs

Printed Material

  • Maine newspapers
  • Maine Gazette, Bath, Me.
  • Maine Inquirer, Bath, Me., vol. 4, nos.3, 4, 14, and 21, Oct. 30 and Nov. 6, 1827; Jan. 15 and Mar. 4, 1828 (newspaper folio box M2)
  • Maine Reporter, Bath, Me., vol.1, no.11, July 31, 1832 (newspaper folio box M3)
  • Bath newspapers with only one or two issues: Daily Times, Daily Northern Tribune, and The People’s Organ (newspaper folio boxes M2 and M3)
  • Kennebec Courier and Northern Tribune (map case drawers 24 and 25)
  • The Phi-Rhonian, Bath High School, scattered issues, 1870-1903 (Bath Uncataloged Historical Ephemera, folders 13-13.1)
  • The Fire Department and Great Fires of Bath, 1897 (Bath Uncat. Hist. Ephem., folder 8)
  • [Malaga Island – letters and postcards, 5 pieces] (Bath Uncat. Hist. Ephem., folder 9.1)
  • Kennebec, Cradle of Americans by Robert P. Tristram Coffin (College PS: C675 K34)
  • Bowdoin student publications containing advertisements for area businesses
  • Other works concerning Brunswick and other area communities
George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives · Staff · Hours
Bowdoin College Library, 3000 College Station, Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421 · scaref@bowdoin.edu · (207) 725-3288