Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, Lisbon, Durham
Preble property, Abagadasett Point (Bowdoinham, Me.), 1768
Charles Vaughan Papers
Letters, Documents, Deeds, and Other Manuscript Materials
- Charles Vaughan Family Papers, 1683-1908 (bulk 1773-1861)
- Letters, documents and deeds concerning Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, and Lisbon (M180, box E, folders E-2, E-4, E-7 through E-10 )
- Bowdoin Second Church of Christ (Baptist) record book, 1805-1869, 1 vol. (M194 .B693 folio)
- Captain John Thomas Papers, 1783-1871: includes ships’ account book, 1807-1832, and ships’ records, 1815-1832 (M175)
- Bowdoin Family Collection, 1687-1996:
- Lisbon land deed given to the President and Trustees of Bowdoin College, Jul. 13, 1811 (M15.2.4, folio box 5)
- Lisbon mortgage and deed for land sold to Sarah Bowdoin by John Gould, Jun. 28, 1813 (M15.2.4, box 1, folder 86)
- Bowdoinham land, opinion [unsigned], Nov. 1845 (M15.2.4, box 1, folder 108)
- Bowdoin, appraisal of lands, Dec. 11, 1824 (Archives 1.8.8, box 3)
- Bowdoin and Lisbon, appraisal of lands, Apr. 15, 1825 (Archives 1.8.8, box 3)
- Bowdoin and Lisbon, sales of land by Benjamin Orr, 1825 (Archives 1.8.8, box 3)
- Lisbon and Bowdoin, report of committee that surveyed unsurveyed lands, Sept. 2, 1823 (Archives 1.8.8, box , folder 27)
- Lisbon land deed of Robert Hallowell and Charles Vaughan: lots 3, 4, 23, 27, 28, 30, and 31, Dec. 16, 1824 (Archives 1.8.8, box 3, folders 15-17)
- Lisbon and Hancock lands material, 1829 (Archives 1.8.8, box 4)
- Lisbon, College lands letters of William Garcelon, Jul.- Sept., 1833 (Archives 1.8.8, box 5)
- [Lisbon lands] included in miscellaneous deeds and material, 1833 (Archives 1.8.8, box 5)
- Abbot and Lisbon miscellaneous material, 1834 (Archives 1.8.8, box 5)
- Bowdoin First Baptist Church deed, Dec. 25, 1844 (M194, box 1, Bowdoin)
- Mellen Papers, compiled by Clara Hawkins Mellen, contains correspondence and genealogical information on several Maine and New England families, 1774-1968:
- Harward Family of Bowdoinham (M129.4)
- Cathance Point information from Pejepscot Company records, Clara Hawkins Mellen’s research notes (M129.14, box 1, folder 3)
- Patten; Gardiner; Ships; Bowdoinham …, Clara Hawkins Mellen’s research notes (M129.14, box 2)
- Kate Furbish Collection, 1870-1908
- Bowdoinham Postmaster appointment, Jan. 13, 1908, signed by Theodore Roosevelt (M194, folio box E, folder Roo-1)
- Ralph Owen Brewster Papers, 1909-1962
- George J. Mitchell Papers, 1948-
- Merrymeeting Audubon Society Records, 1969-1972
Maps
- Charles Vaughan Family Papers, 1683-1908 (bulk 1773-1861)
- Abagadassett Point, plan of land granted to Abraham Preble, John McKechnie surveyor, Jun. 1763 (M180, box E, folder E-10)
- Abagadassett Point, plan of area by John McKechnie, May 7, 1774 (M180, box E, folder E-10)
- Lisbon, plan of two lots, Dec. 21 and 22, 1814 (M180, box E, folder E-4)
- Kennebec and Androscoggin Rivers and Merrymeeting-Bay Area
- Gov. James Bowdoin’s Bowdoinham, Bowdoin, and Lisbon lots plan, by John Merrill, surveyor, March 20, 1772, ms. original (Mapcase D, drawer 11)
- Kennebec River and Merrymeeting-Bay Area: Survey of Kennebeck River by Lts. J. K. Findlay, N. B. Bennett, and H. A Wilson. Drawn by Lieut. N. B. Bennett. 6 maps, [1838] (mapcase D, drawer 11)
- Lisbon, plan of land tracts, Apr. 21, 1824 (Archives 1.8.8, box 3)
- Bowdoin, plot of land surveyed by A. Merrill, Dec. 11, 1824 (Archives 1.8.8, folio box 4)
- Lisbon, survey map of College-owned lands, May 3, 1825 (Archives 1.8.8, folio box 4)
- Lisbon, survey map of disputed land in the case of Bowdoin College v. John Coffin, Sept. 15, 1826 (Archives 1.8.8, folio box 4)
- Atlas and History of Androscoggin County, Maine, published by Sanford, Everts & Co., 1873 – includes maps of Durham and Lisbon (oversize folio)
Photographs
Printed Material