The Honorands of The 2001 Commencement

Theodore E. Stebbins, Jr. Doctor of Fine Arts

Dr. Theodore E. Stebbins, Jr., Distinguished Fellow and Consultative Curator of American Art at Harvard's Fogg Art Museum, is recognized internationally as one of the leading authorities on American art. He graduated fro Yale College in 1960 and received his law degree from Harvard Law School in 1964 before turning to the study of art history at Harvard, where he received his M.A. in 1966 and Ph.D. in 1971. He served as the Chester Dale Fellow at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. until 1966, taught at Smith College in 1967, and in 1968 he was appointed to the faculty of Yale University, where he served as associate professor of art history and curator of American painting and sculpture. In 1977 he went to the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, as curator of American paintings, and in 1986 was appointed John Moors Cabot Curator of American Paintings. While at Yale, Mr. Stebbins also wrote his well-known landmark monograph on Martin Johnson Heade (1975: rev. 2000) as well as a pioneering survey of American drawings and watercolors (1976).

During his 22 years at the Museum of Fine Arts he conceived, organized, and installed over a dozen major exhibitions, including the first exhibition of American paintings to travel to China (1980) and the critically acclaimed Lure of Italy: American Artists and the Italian Experience, 1760-1914 (1992). The exhibition catalog for The Lure of Italy is the only American catalogue ever to win the prestigious Minda de Gunzburg Prize.

Stebbins also directed the addition of over 300 American paintings to the Museum of Fine Arts Collection, adding major works by Copley, Stuart, Sargent, Homer, the Hudson River School, the Boston School, and such 20th-century painters as Pollock and Warhol. Stebbins is perhaps best known for his work with the Lane Collection. Working with William and Saundra Lane, he guided the acquisition of nearly 100 works by the Museum of Fine Arts, including paintings by Charles Sheeler, Stuart Davis, Georgia O'Keeffe, Arthur G. Dove, Marsden Hartley, and other American modernists. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1997.