Location: Bowdoin / Library / Special Collections & Archives / Subject Guides / Genealogical Resources

LibraryGeorge J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives


Genealogical Resources

Lyman Abbott Family, Abbott Memorial Collection
Lyman Abbott Family, Abbott Memorial Collection

This guide provides genealogists with a broad,cursory outline of genealogical resources available in Special Collections & Archives. This list does not include material available in the circulating collections of the Library. Please consult the online catalog for further information on these works.

Many items sometimes used by genealogists are not mentioned within the detailed list; for the most part, these were not specific or involved too many family or individual names to be included. Descriptions of some of the more general sources, including those in the Bowdoin College Archives, precede the detailed list.

General Resources

Family Name Index


General Holdings

Alumni Biographical Files
Biographical folders kept by the College on its alumni. Files on deceased alumni of Bowdoin College through the Class of 1938 and of the Medical School of Maine are housed in the Bowdoin College Archives. You may wish to begin your search by verifying a connection to Bowdoin using one of the General Catalogues of the College.

McArthur Pension Cases
Military pension cases administered by two Maine agents, Arthur and William McArthur of Limington, cover most of the 19th century and include records of Maine veterans from the Revolutionary War to the Indian campaigns in the west. The container list, which names all pensioners, and an index of claimants is available to in-house patrons.

Artillery Company Records
Records of the Monmouth Artillery Company cover 1810 to 1841, and those of the Topsham Artillery Company are from 1808 to 1843.

Family Papers
The papers of Maine families, as well as those from other areas of the northeast, are housed in Special Collections. Many, among them the Bowdoin, Fessenden, Hale, Howard, Hubbard and King families, contain correspondence, diaries, documents and historical material relating to several generations. Those that include specific genealogical files are identified in the family name index.

Church Records
Records, most original manuscripts, relating to Maine churches.

Land Records
The records of the lands once owned by the College, including the Bowdoin/Bowdoinham area and parts of the Seventh Range, are held by the Bowdoin College Archives as part of the records of the Office of the Treasurer. They include information on land sales and distributions, squatters and legal disputes. Other material can be found in the Records of the Governing Boards and the administrative papers of the early Bowdoin presidents.


Index to Family Names
A-D, E-H, I-L, M-P, Q-T, U-Z

Family Name

Location

Abbott Memorial Collection (M1)

  • Boxes 13-14 and volumes, Biographical records
  • Box 16, Documents, essays, and ephemera

Apthorp

Abbott Memorial Collection (M1)

  • Apthorp volumes

Anderson

Special Collections Stacks

[Arundel, Maine]

Joseph Fessenden Sermons (M61)

  • Box 1, Marriages in ..., 1820-1829

Baker

see "Hubbard"

Miscellaneous Manuscript Collection

Barnes

Special Collections Stacks

Barrett

see "Hubbard"

Barrows

see "Shepley"

Bartlett

Special Collections Stacks

Batchelor

see "Vaughan"

Bates

Arlo Bates Papers (M9)

  • Boxes 2 and 6-8, Ephemera, genealogy folders

Baudouin

see "Bowdoin"

Bickford

see "Hubbard"

Bordroyne

see "Bowdoin"

Bowdoin, Bowden

Bowdoin Collection (M15)

  • Boxes 1-2, Genealogical notes
  • Boxes 2-3, William Bowden Genealogical Notes

Alpheus Spring Packard Papers (M142)

  • Box 2, Bowdoin Family Notes

Special Collections Stacks

Bradford

see "Harris"

Brainerd

Special Collections Stacks

Burleigh, Burley

see "Bowdoin"

Carleton

see "Hubbard"

Chadbourne, Chadbourn

Special Collections Stacks

Chandler

see "Cleaveland"

Chisholm

Special Collections Stacks

Cilley

Special Collections Stacks

Clark

Special Collections Stacks

Mellen Family Papers (M129.2)

  • Box 1, Clark Family

Cleaveland

Cleaveland-Chandler Papers (M35)

  • Box 3 and volumes, Family records

Coan

Elisha Coan Papers (M36)

  • Box 1, Documents, letters, and biographical Information

Coffin

Miscellaneous Manuscript Collection (M194.2)

  • Box 2, Coffin

Robert Peter Tristam Coffin Collection (M37)

  • Boxes 197-198, Family history

Coney

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Parentage and English Progenitors of Nathaniel Cony of Boston, Mass. (CS71.C748 1906)
  • A Brief Study in Genealogy (CS: W724 C74)

Connin

see "Coney"

Conny, Cony

see "Coney"

Cooke

see "Harris"

Crozier

Special Collections Stacks

Curtis

William John Curtis Papers (M41)

  • Box 1, Biographical information

Curtis Family of Maine Genealogy (M42)

Davis

Special Collections Stacks

Fairchild

Fairchild Papers (M56)

  • Box 1, Genealogy

Fairfield

see "Vaughan"

Farrington

Special Collections Stacks

Fessenden

Fessenden Collection (M59)

  • Boxes 16-17, Biographical records, genealogies, and family history

Fessenden Genealogical Collection (M62)

Foote

Stetson Collection on Wiscasset Shipping Families (M171)

  • Box 1 and folio box E, Foote Family

Foulke

Special Collections Stacks

Gallup

Special Collections Stacks

Gardiner

see "Vaughan"

Gilbert

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Gilbert Family : Descendants of Thomas Gilbert ... of Mt. Woolaston (NZ2: B814 G46 1953)

Godfrey

Alumni Biographical Files under Godfrey, Noah, n1848

Gould

John Gould Collection (M75)

  • Box 1, Biographical materials

Gray

Manuscript volumes under Howard

Green

Miscellaneous Pamphlets under Green, Percival and Ellen

Greenleaf

Special Collections Stacks

  • A Genealogy of the Greenleaf Family (CT: G814 G32)

Grinnell

Special Collections Stacks

Hale

see "King"

Special Collections Stacks

  • Hale, House, and Related Families, mainly of the Connecticut River Valley (NZ2: J178 H16 1952)

Haley

Special Collections Stacks

Hallowell

see "Vaughan"

Harris

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Ancestry of Bethia Harris ... Wife of Dudley Wildes of Topsfield, Massachusetts (NZ2: D266 H31 1934)
  • Josiah Harris ... East Machias, Maine : His Ancestors and Descendants in Nine Generations (College CS: H313 H31)

Harthorn, Hathorne

Special Collections Stacks

  • Hathorn/Harthorn : the Ancestors and Descendants of William Hathorn of Cushing, Maine (CS: C637 H36)

Harward

Mellen Family Papers (M129)

  • Box 1, Harward Family

Haskell

Manuscript Volumes under Haskell

Hawkins

Mellen Family Papers (M129)

  • Box 2, Hawkins Family

Hildreth

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Ancestry of Sarah Hildreth ... wife of Amis Spear of Litchfield, Maine (NZ2: D266 H64 1958)

House

see "Hale"

Howard

Rowland Bailey Howard Papers (M92)

  • Box 1, Family and biographical material

Manuscript Volumes under Howard

Hubbard

Hubbard Family Papers (M95)

  • Box 17, Genealogical and family material

Isaac

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Ancestry of Mary Isaac ... Wife of Thomas Appleton of Little Waldingfield (NZ2: D266 I73 1955)

Johnson

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Ancestry of Sarah Johnson ... Wife of Joseph Neal of Litchfield, Maine (NZ2: D266 J69 1960)

Jones

see "Harris"

King

Hale-King Papers (M81)

  • Box 2, Miscellaneous (folder labeled "Ephemera" includes Ancestral Table of Rufus King)

Kingsford

Bowdoin Family Collection (M15)

  • Box 1, Genealogical materials

Lakin

Miscellaneous Pamphlets under Lakin Family

Larsen

Special Collections Stacks

[Lebanon, Maine]

Miscellaneous Pamphlets under Lebanon, ME

Little

Little Family Papers (M108)

  • Boxes 1-3, Documents & legal papers

Longfellow

Special Collections Stacks

Lunt

Special Collections Stacks

Manley

Mellen Family Papers (M129.2)

  • Box 2, Manley Family

McArthur

McArthur Papers (M116)

  • Box 8 and volumes, Ephemera and miscellaneous material

Special Collections Stacks

MacDonald, McDonald

Alumni Pamphlets under MacDonald, Angus

McFadden

Manuscript Volumes under McFadden

Mellen

Mellen Family Papers (129.1)

  • Box 1, Mellen Family material

Mower

Special Collections Stacks

Manuscript Volumes under Mower

Miscellaneous Manuscripts under Mower

Neal

Special Collections Stacks

Nichols

Special Collections Stacks

[North Yarmouth, Maine]

Miscellaneous Pamphlets under North Yarmouth, ME

Noyes

George Boardman Noyes Papers (141)

  • Box 1, Genealogical information

Parker

John C. Parker Papers (M143)

  • Box 2 and volumes, Family papers

Patterson

Patterson Papers (M144)

  • Records of ... Benjamin Patterson Family

Perley

see "Shepley"

Pierce

Edward Allen Pierce Papers (M147)

  • Box 4, Pierce Family

Pitts

see "Bowdoin"

Prentis

see "Bowdoin"

Quincy

Miscellaneous Pamphlets under Quincy Family

Reade

see "Harris"

Ruck

see "Hubbard"

Sandell

see "Harris"

Sargeant

see "Shepley"

Scroggs

see "Harris"

Sewall

Mellen Family Papers (M129.2)

  • Box 2, Sewall Family

Special Collections Stacks

Shepley

Shepley Papers (M162)

  • Boxes 1-2, Genealogical material

Spear

Special Collections Stacks

Stone

Special Collections Stacks

  • The Ancestry of Sarah Stone, Wife of James Patten of Arundel ... Maine (NZ2: D266 S88 1930)

Temple

see "Bowdoin"

Special Collections Stacks

Ten Broeck

Special Collections Stacks

Thacher

Alumni Pamphlets under Thacher, Peter

Towne

Special Collections Stacks

Uggerby

see "Larsen"

Upton

Upton Family Papers (M179)

  • Box 1, Genealogy

Vaughan

Charles Vaughan Papers (M180)

  • Boxes 1-5, Correspondence

Vaughan Family Research Files (M293)

  • Box 1, Genealogical charts, correspondence and miscellaneous

Abbott Memorial Collection (M1)

  • OS volume, Correspondence
  • Box 14 and volumes, Biographical records

Wadsworth

see "Vaughan"

Wells

see "Vaughan"

Weston

Miscellaneous Pamphlets under Weston, Hannah

Wildes

Special Collections Stacks

Winthrop

see "Bowdoin"

Wood

Stetson Collection on Wiscasset Shipping Families (M171.2)

  • Box 2, Wood Family
George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives · Staff · Hours
Bowdoin College Library, 3000 College Station, Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421 · scaref@bowdoin.edu · (207) 725-3288