Location: Bowdoin / Library / Special Collections & Archives / Subject Guides / Africana Studies Resources / Other Resources

Other Resources

“Matt Henson—Colored Companion.” In: Boston Journal (Sept. 11, 1909) [Student scrapbooks: Peary, 1.3.3, v. 193]

"Matt Henson—Colored Companion." In: Boston Journal (Sept. 11, 1909) [Student scrapbooks: Peary, 1.3.3, v. 193]


“Nat Turner,” by D. R. Wakefield. In: Almost Jerusalem: The Confessions of Nat Turner (Goole [Eng.]: Chevington Press, 2005).

"Nat Turner," color etching by D. R. Wakefield.  In:  Almost Jerusalem:  The Confessions of Nat Turner  (Goole [Eng.]:  Chevington Press, 2005).

Some Africana Studies resources fall outside the traditional historical categories presented above. In particular, researchers may wish to explore:

  • The Maine African American Archive, a small collection of news clippings, articles, lists, and printed ephemera relating to African Americans in New England and Maine (especially in Brunswick and at Bowdoin College) and to abolitionist and antislavery activities in the region. While the materials in this collection are miscellaneous, the accompanying notes provide numerous references to related resource materials located among the Library's holdings.
  • The Arctic Collection, which includes books by and about Matthew Henson, who accompanied Robert Peary on their North Pole expedition, as well as news clippings (in the Robert Peary alumni scrapbook) and his correspondence (in the Donald B. MacMillan Collection). Further resources concerning Henson are available at the Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum
  • The Book Arts Collection, containing beautifully made modern books that combine the works of black writers and artists, including Richard Wright, Langston Hughes, Pheobe Beasley, Benny Andrews, Faith Ringgold, Zora Neal Hurston, Beyte Saar, Jean Toomer, Martin Puryear, and D. R. Wakefield.
George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives · Staff · Hours
Bowdoin College Library, 3000 College Station, Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421 · scaref@bowdoin.edu · (207) 725-3288